Learn about the Vermont education needs for real estate licensing and renewal.
Licensing Board/Commission: Vermont Secretary of State – Vermont Real Estate Commission
Vermont Real Estate Education Requirements:
- Vermont Real Estate Salesperson: 40 hours of pre-licensing education.
- Hours required for real estate broker license in the state of Vermont: 40 hours of real estate education from an approved real estate school.
Many students take advantage of exam prep tailored for their state, to give them a higher chance of passing.
Vermont State Reciprocity:
(c) The commission may waive all or a part of the examination requirement if the applicant is a real estate broker or salesperson regulated under the laws of another jurisdiction, who is in good standing to practice in that jurisdiction and, in the opinion of the commission, the jurisdiction’s examination is substantially equal to that required by this chapter. (Amended 1963, No. 66, § 2; 1969, No. 283 (Adj. Sess.), § 6; 1979, No. 81, § 2, eff. May 10, 1979; 1985, No. 6, § 1; 1997, No. 40, § 28; 2001, No. 151 (Adj. Sess.), § 21, eff. June 27, 2002; 2005, No. 27, § 67.)
For more information on reciprocity, view our complete guide.
Vermont Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) Renewal Requirements:
- May 31 even years for sales and Mar 31 even years for brokers
- 16 hours CE classes for Salespersons renewing for the second or subsequent time including the 4 hour 2016-2018 mandatory course; 24 hours for Brokers including the 4 hour 2016 mandatory course – four hours of instruction must be in legislation and other topics.