Delaware Real Estate License Requirements
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Delaware
Applicants need to be at least 18 years of age and a legal U.S. resident.
- Complete 99 Hours of Required Education
- Pass the Pre-Licensing Course Final Exam
- Pass the Delaware Real Estate Salesperson Exam
- Find a Sponsoring Broker
- Complete the Application
How to Get a Real Estate License in Delaware
The Delaware Real Estate Commission requires all potential agents to complete the following steps to become a licensed real estate agent. Follow the detailed steps below to get started with your real estate career.
1. Complete 99 Hours of Required Education
You must successfully take 99 hours of Pre-Licensing courses from an approved Delaware Real Estate Commission education provider.
2. Pass the Pre-Licensing Course Final Exam
Once you complete all the required education and meet the time requirement, you’ll take the course final exam. The minimum passing score is 80%.
3. Pass the Delaware Real Estate Salesperson Exam
You’ll next take and pass the Delaware Real Estate Salesperson Exam, which is administered by Pearson VUE. This 130-question test is comprised of two portions, covering both state and national requirements. For more information, see the Pearson VUE Candidate Handbook.
Do you need help passing your Delaware real estate exam? Check out our
comprehensive Exam Prep tailored to Delaware.
4. Find a Sponsoring Broker
To be licensed, you must first be associated with a current and active Delaware sponsoring Broker.
It’s important to find the right Broker to work with since this group will serve as your mentor as you start your new career in real estate.
5. Complete the Application
All licensees must register and create an account on the DELPROS website to apply for a license. DELPROS allows users to:
- Apply for a professional license
- Pay license fees using secure, online payment options
- Print your license
- Renew your license or check your renewal status
- Update your account information
After you complete these steps, your approval status will be communicated in the DELPROS portal.
There is a Delaware Real Estate License Lookup Tool.
The Delaware Real Estate Commission adheres to Delaware Real Estate Laws & Regulations.
Here is a link to all DE real estate filing forms and documents.
Common Questions About Getting Your Delaware Real Estate License
1. How much does it cost to get your real estate license in Delaware?
The cost of an agent license in DE can vary considerably depending on the price of your Delaware real estate classes and different fees for your licensing, etc. An individual can typically expect to pay $1,000-$1,300 to get an active Delaware real estate license.
|Average Course Tuition||$800-$1,100|
|Background Check and Fingerprinting||$52|
2. How long does it take to get a real estate license in Delaware?
The specific amount of time to complete your 99 hours of licensing can vary depending on how long each task the student takes and of course how long they take to complete their Pre-Licensing courses. Different credit hours and requirements of each brokerage will affect each Salesperson differently.
|Student Learning Pace||Time Period|
|Full-Time Student (40 hours a week)||2.5 weeks|
|20 Hours a Week||5 weeks|
|10 Hours a Week||10 weeks|
|5 Hours a Week||20 weeks|
3. If I get a real estate license in Delaware, where else can I work?
If you get a real estate license in Delaware, you are automatically eligible to work in states that offer full reciprocity. States that offer full reciprocity will recognize your Delaware license, meaning you can work in their state after fulfilling significantly less requirements. Typically, this means passing the state-specific real estate exam or taking a state-specific course. States with full reciprocity include:
The above list is not comprehensive. Please refer to
this guide for more information on reciprocity.
4. How much money can I make as a Delaware Real Estate Agent?
According to Indeed.com, the average salary for a Delaware real estate agent is $102,898. This number is in line with the national average.
Delaware Real Estate Post Licensing Requirements
Delaware real estate Post-License education requires that you
complete 12 hours of Post-Licensing education courses within 90 days of receiving your real estate license. The 90-day clock to complete your post education will start running once you affiliate yourself with a principal Broker. Those who do not complete Post-Licensing are at risk of losing their license.
Delaware Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements
All licensed agents are required to maintain knowledge in their field. For real estate agents,
this requirement is 21 hours of approved continuing education
courses. These must be completed by April 30th of every even-numbered year.