Hawaii Real Estate License Requirements
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Hawaii
In Hawaii, you need to be 18 years of age by your exam date to be eligible for real estate licensing. You’ll also need to hold a high school diploma, have authorization to work in the U.S., and have a reputation of competency, honesty, truthfulness, financial integrity, and fair dealing.
Once you meet the above requirements, you must:
- Complete 60 hours of Approved Pre-Licensing Education
- Create an Account with the eHawaii Website
- Pass the Course Final Exam(s)
- Pass the State of Hawaii Licensing Exam
- Submit Your Application
- Find a Sponsoring Broker
How to Get a Real Estate License in Hawaii
1. Complete 60 Hours of Approved Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education
Per the Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs Real Estate Division (DCCA), the first step in earning your real estate license is to enroll in the 60-hour Pre-License course from an approved real estate school. If you’re unsure whether you’re ready to enroll in online courses and embark on a new career, a free trial can give you an idea of what to expect.
2. Create an Account with eHawaii
Once you’ve started the required DCCA-approved Pre-Licensing education, it’s important to create an eHawaii account. This is how the official school completion certificate will be transferred to the state, so be sure to enter your information exactly as it appears on your government-issued identification.
3. Pass the Course Final Exam(s)
After your initial course completion, you must pass the course’s final exam(s). Some exams consist of 20 questions while others may have up to 50. The course’s final exam will present 100 national questions and 70 state-specific questions. Regardless, a passing score of 75% or greater is required to pass and move on to the next steps.
4. Pass the Hawaii Real Estate Examination
Once the course exams have been passed the education requirement has been satisfied, it’s time to pass the Hawaii Salesperson License Exam. The Hawaii Real Estate Salesperson Licensing Exam, which is scheduled through and administered by PSI, consists of an 80-question national portion and a 50-question state portion.
Per the Hawaii candidate handbook, state exam-takers have 150 minutes to complete the national section and 90 minutes to complete the state-specific portion. The exam fee is $61. Those seeking an additional advantage on test day may want to consider using a Hawaii-specific Exam Prep, which significantly improves chances of passing the Hawaii Real Estate Salesperson Exam on the first try.
5. Submit Your License Application
The last step in acquiring your license is to apply and pay the associated fees. The Hawaii Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs Real Estate Division (DCCA) allows for applicants to submit all necessary documentation online via their eHawaii account.
6. Select a Hawaii-Based Sponsoring Broker
For your real estate Salesperson license to be considered active status, the state requires that license-holders partner up with a Hawaii-based sponsoring brokerage firm. All real estate Salespersons in Hawaii, regardless of where they are in their career, must operate on behalf of a licensed real estate Broker.
Education requirements may not be necessary for some with real estate licenses in other states, a law degree, or a bachelor’s degree in real estate.
Testing center locations can be found in
the Hawaii candidate handbook.
If you’re unsure whether a criminal history will preclude you from starting a real estate career you can apply for a preliminary decision with the Hawaii Real Estate Commission.
License transfer/renewal can be managed online with eHawaii.
Common Questions About Getting Your Hawaii Real Estate License.
1. How much does it cost to get your real estate license in Hawaii?
The cost of a Salesperson license can vary considerably depending on the price of your Hawaii real estate classes and different types of fees for your licensing, etc. An individual can typically expect to pay $742-$992 to get an active Hawaii real estate license.
|Average Course Tuition
|$282 (even years) – $382 (odd years)
2. How long does it take to get a real estate license in Hawaii?
The specific amount of time to complete your 60 hours of licensing can vary depending on how long between each task the student takes and of course how long they take to complete their Pre-Licensing courses. Different credit hours and requirements of each brokerage will affect each Salesperson differently.
|Student Learning Pace
|Full-Time Student (40 hours a week)
|20 Hours a Week
|10 Hours a Week
|5 Hours a Week
3. If I get a real estate license in Hawaii, where else can I work?
If you get a real estate license in Hawaii, you are automatically eligible to work in states that offer full reciprocity. States that offer full reciprocity will recognize your Hawaii license, meaning you can work in their state after fulfilling significantly less requirements. Typically, this means passing the state-specific real estate exam or taking a state-specific course. States with full reciprocity include:
The above list is not comprehensive. Please refer to
this guide for more information on reciprocity.
4. How much money can I make as a Hawaii real estate agent?
According to Indeed.com, the average salary for a Hawaii real estate agent is $102,269.
Hawaii Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements
All licensed agents are required to maintain their knowledge in their particular field. For real estate Brokers in Hawaii, this requirement is
20 hours of approved Continuing Education
courses. These must be completed during each biennium.