Oregon Real Estate License Requirements
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Oregon
You’ll need to be 18 years of age or older and have a high school diploma, GED, or international equivalent, and:
- Register With the State
- Complete 150 hours of Pre-Licensing Education
- Pass the Course Final Exams
- Schedule and Pass the Oregon Real Estate Broker Exam
- Complete Fingerprinting and Background Check
- Find a Sponsoring Broker
How to Get a Real Estate License in Oregon
The Oregon Real Estate Agency requires all potential agents to complete the steps in order to become a licensed agent in The Beaver State. Follow the steps below to get started with your real estate career.
1. Register With the State
First you need to register for an account in eLicense, the Oregon Real Estate Agency’s online license management system. You will apply for a broker license and pay the $300 nonrefundable application fee in eLicense. When the application is processed, you will receive an Applicant ID number by email.
2. Complete 150 Hours of Pre-Licensing Education
Complete 150 Hours of Pre-Licensing Education Before completing your Pre-Licensing, you need to provide your Applicant ID number and full name to the school. Then, you must complete
150 hours of real estate Pre-Licensing courses.
3. Pass the Final Exam for Each Course
Pass the Final Exam for Each Course After you complete all the course materials, meet the minimum time requirement, and pass the practice exams, there is a final exam for each course. The minimum passing score on all exams is 75%. The course exams required for real estate Broker applicants are:
- Real Estate Law: 30 clock-hours and 60-question final exam
- Oregon Real Estate Practice: 30 clock-hours and 60-question final exam
- Real Estate Finance: 30 clock-hours and 60-question final exam
- Contracts: 15 clock-hours and 30-question final exam
- Agency Law: 15 clock-hours and 30-question final exam
- Property Management: 10 clock-hours and 20-question final exam
- Real Estate Brokerage: 20 clock-hours and 40-question final exam
- Comprehensive Final Exam (national portion): 100-question final exam
- Comprehensive Final Exam (state portion): 50-question final exam
4. Schedule and Pass the Oregon Real Estate Broker Exam
You will need to
schedule and pay for a license exam online
with PSI, the testing service provider. You can either take the exam in-person with a proctor, or
schedule a remote exam on PSI’s website.
This 130-question test has two portions covering both state (50 questions) and national (80 questions) requirements. You will have 75 minutes to complete the state portion and 120 minutes to complete the national portion. Taking an
Oregon exam prep course is a great way to increase the likelihood of passing the test on the first try.
5. Complete Fingerprinting and Background Check
The background check process will begin when you create a license application in Oregon Real Estate Agency’s eLicense system. Then, when you pass your licensing exam, your fingerprints will be taken at the PSI testing center.
You will pay a fee directly to PSI to have your fingerprints taken and processed. You can contact PSI for the current fee. The Oregon Real Estate Agency has advised that the Oregon State Police will take between 3 and 4 weeks to process fingerprints.
6. Complete Fingerprinting and Background Check
To practice as a real estate Broker, the applicant must be associated with a current and active Oregon sponsoring Principal Broker. Your Principal Broker should see your pending license into the registered business.
A license is issued when:
- Your background check clears
- Your new Principal Broker adds your pending license into the business
- The Oregon Real Estate Agency completes a final review of your application
PSI’s Candidate Information Bulletin
has more information on the real estate licensing exam.
You can use the Oregon Real Estate Agent License Lookup Tool to verify an agent’s license status.
Use this step-by-step guide to renew your license.
Common Questions About Getting Your Oregon Real Estate License.
1. How Much Does It Cost to Get Your Real Estate License in Oregon?
The cost of an agent license in OR can vary considerably depending on the price of your Oregon real estate classes and different types of fees for your licensing, etc. An individual can typically expect to pay $811-$1,141 to get an active Oregon real estate license.
|Average Course Tuition||$449-$779|
OR Fingerprinting and
2. How Long Does It Take to Get a Real Estate License in Oregon?
The specific amount of time to complete your 150 hours of licensing can vary depending on how long each task takes you, and how long you take to complete Pre-Licensing courses. Different credit hours and requirements of each brokerage will affect each Salesperson differently.
|Student Learning Pace||Time Period|
|Full-Time Student (40 hours a week)||3.75 weeks|
|20 Hours a Week||7.5 weeks|
|10 Hours a Week||15 weeks|
|5 Hours a Week||30 weeks|
3. If I Get a Real Estate License in Oregon, Where Else Can I Work?
Oregon has partial reciprocity, meaning you can get a reciprocal license in Alabama, Alberta, Georgia, Nebraska, and South Dakota. There are no waivers of education or license examinations available. Contact the Oregon Real Estate Agency for the specific reciprocal licensing information.
4. How Much Money Can I Make as an Oregon Real Estate Agent?
According to Indeed.com, the average salary for an Oregon real estate agent is $105,321. This number is 7% lower than the national average.
Oregon Broker Real Estate Post-Licensing Requirements
Oregon real estate post-license education requirements are that you
complete thirty (30) hours of post-licensing education courses
within the first two (2) years by the last day of the licensee’s birth month. The required courses for Oregon Brokers are:
- 3 hours – Oregon Law and Rule Required Course (LARRC)
- 27 hours – Oregon Advanced Practices Course
This step is only necessary for your first license renewal, for any license renewals following you will only need to take the required Continuing Education. You will need to make sure that you are getting these courses through an
OREA-approved education provider.
Oregon Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements
All licensed agents are required to maintain their knowledge in their particular field, for real estate agents,
this requirement is thirty (30) hours of approved continuing education courses, these must be completed every two years.
You will need to make sure that you are getting these courses through a
OREA-approved education provider.