Connecticut Real Estate License Requirements
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Connecticut
Candidates must be 18 years of age or older and have a valid social security number. Licensing steps include:
- Complete 40 Hours of Approved Pre-Licensing Education
- Pass the Pre-Licensing Course Final Exam
- Obtain Three Candidate Endorsements
- Pass the Real Estate Salesperson Exam
- Apply for Reciprocity with the State of Connecticut
How to Get a Real Estate License in Connecticut
According to the
Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection, students cannot complete their real estate education online. However, due to favorable reciprocity laws with the state of Massachusetts, they can complete Massachusetts Pre-Licensing education online (and take the Massachusetts state exam) to get a Massachusetts license. Following Massachusetts licensure, agents can apply for reciprocity in Connecticut. Here are the steps with even more detail.
1. Complete 40 Hours of Approved Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education
The first step in earning your Connecticut real estate license online is to complete the
40-hour Massachusetts Pre-License course from an approved real estate school. If you’re unsure whether or not you’re ready to take the leap, a free trial can give you an idea of what to expect.
2. Pass the Pre-Licensing Course Final Exam
After completing the real estate Pre-Licensing coursework, you must pass the course’s exam(s). Some exams consist of 20 questions while others may have up to 50. The Pre-License course’s final exam could present up to 100 national questions and 70 state-specific questions. Regardless, a score of 75% or greater is required to pass and move on to the next step.
3. Obtain Three Candidate Endorsements
Before you can register to take the Massachusetts real estate licensing exam, you must procure three candidate endorsements from people who are not related to you. They do not have to be residents of Massachusetts or Connecticut. Once you do that, you can
mail your application to the PSI office and get the examination eligibility postcard that’s needed to take the Massachusetts state licensing exam.
4. Pass the Real Estate Salesperson Exam
The state licensing exam consists of a national portion with 80 questions (which students have 150 minutes to complete) and a state portion with 40 questions (which students have 90 minutes to complete). Overall, the exam consists of 120 questions and students are allotted 240 minutes to complete the exam. Per the handbook, the
exam fee is $85.
Those seeking an additional advantage on test day may want to consider using
a state-specific exam prep, which significantly improves chances of passing the Massachusetts Real Estate Salesperson Exam on the first try.
5. Apply for Reciprocity with the State of Connecticut
You’re now ready to take the next step in your real estate career, which is
applying for a real estate license in Massachusetts. After licensing, you can apply for a Connecticut real estate Salesperson license by completing a reciprocal license application. You’ll need notarized documents and payment for the $385 license fee.
Connecticut real estate Salesperson Pre-Licensing cannot be completed online, therefore you must get a Massachusetts license and submit a reciprocal license application to the state of Connecticut.
If only one part of the real estate exam is failed,
only that part of the exam must be retaken.
There are reduced education requirements for those with a law degree in Connecticut.
Common Questions About Getting Your Connecticut Real Estate License.
1. How much does it cost to get your real estate license in Connecticut?
The cost of a real estate license in Connecticut can vary depending on the price of your real estate classes and the fees associated with licensure. With that said, an individual can typically expect to pay $740-$910 to get an active Connecticut real estate license.
|Average Course Tuition||$270-$440|
2. How long does it take to get a real estate license in Connecticut?
The specific amount of time to complete the 40 hours of real estate education varies from student to student. Online courses are self-directed and completed at whatever pace works best for the individual. If a student’s schedule allows, the education requirement can often be completed in just over a month or two.
|Student Learning Pace||Time Period|
|Full-Time Student (40 hours a week)||1 week|
|20 Hours a Week||2 weeks|
|10 Hours a Week||3 weeks|
|5 Hours a Week||8 weeks|
3. If I get a real estate license in Connecticut, where else can I work?
If you get a real estate license in Connecticut, you are automatically eligible to work in states that offer full reciprocity. States that offer full reciprocity will recognize your CT license, meaning you can work in their state after fulfilling significantly less requirements. Typically, this means passing the state-specific real estate exam or taking a state-specific course. States with full reciprocity include:
The above list is not comprehensive. Please refer to
this guide for more information on reciprocity.
How much money can I make as a Connecticut Real Estate Agent?
According to Indeed.com, the average salary for a Connecticut real estate agent is $110,000. Of course, this can vary depending on the real estate brokerage firm and the Salesperson. This figure also applies to full time agents.
Connecticut Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements
All real estate professionals are required to maintain their professional knowledge via Continuing Education. For real estate agents in Connecticut, this requirement is
12 hours of approved Continuing Education courses
that must be completed every two years.