Ohio Real Estate License Requirements
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Ohio
You’ll need to be 1.) 18 years of age 2.) be a U.S. citizen 3.) have a high school diploma or GED 4.) Not have been convicted of a felony or crime of “moral turpitude” 5.) Not have violated any civil rights laws regarding real estate within the last two years. Then you must:
- Complete 120 hours of state approved Pre-Licensing education.
- Pass the course final exam(s).
- Choose a sponsoring broker.
- Complete the Ohio salesperson license application.
- Pass the Ohio real estate salesperson exam.
How to Get a Real Estate License in Ohio
The Ohio Department of Commerce requires all potential agents to complete the steps below in order to become a licensed real estate agent. Follow the steps below to get started with your real estate career.
1. Complete 120 Hours of State Approved Pre-Licensing Education.
Successfully complete the required 120-hour Ohio salesperson Pre-Licensing course. There are several different Ohio real estate education providers, many offer online courses as well as learning-in-person coursework. Not sure if you’re ready to go to school? Some Ohio real estate schools have an option for a free trial that can help determine if Ohio real estate courses are right for you.
2. Pass the Course Final Exam(s).
After the coursework, you’ll need to pass your school’s final real estate exam(s) to receive your certificate of completion. Students are required to score a 70% or better on these exams to pass. Course exams can be retaken as many times as necessary without penalty.
3. Choose a Sponsoring Broker
Salespersons sell on behalf of a broker or brokerage firm, so before you embark on your real estate career, you must be associated with a current and active Ohio Sponsoring Broker. It’s important to find the right Broker to work with since this person will serve as your mentor as you start your new career in real estate.
4. Complete the Ohio Salesperson License Application.
The next step is to complete the application and pay the $81 application fee. Once that’s done, your information is sent to the testing vendor, PSI Services LLC. PSI will process the information and send you information for scheduling an exam.
The Ohio Division of Real Estate also requires that candidates submit a fingerprint and pass a background check. Costs and locations vary, but you can expect to pay about $67.50.
5. Pass the Ohio Real Estate Examination
Per the PSI Ohio candidate handbook, the state exam must be taken under the supervision of a proctor at a local examination center or online.
The exam has 120 questions and consists of two portions: one with state-specific questions and the other with national questions. Candidates are given three hours to complete the exam and must score 70% or better to pass. The exam fee for each attempt is $58. For more details and information, see the PSI candidate exam information here.
Figuring out how to become a real estate agent in Ohio can be difficult on its own. If you need help passing the Ohio real estate licensing exam, there are several options out there to assist you. Many comprehensive exam prep tools are tailored specifically to Ohio and can give you a much greater chance to pass the exam on the first try.
The Ohio Department of Commerce oversees real estate licensure.
The State of Ohio requires Post-Licensing education.
Exam locations can be found in the candidate handbook.
Common Questions About Getting Your Ohio Real Estate License.
1. How much does it cost to get your real estate license in Ohio?
The cost of an agent license in Ohio can vary considerably depending on the price of your Ohio real estate classes and different types of fees for your licensing, etc. An individual can typically expect to pay $1631.50 – $1851.50 to get an active Ohio real estate license.
|Average Course Tuition||$1425 – $1645|
|Total||$1631.50 – $1851.50|
2. How long does it take to get a real estate license in Ohio?
The specific amount of time to complete your 120 hours of licensing can vary depending on how long between each task the student takes and of course how long they take to complete their pre-licensing courses. Different credit hours and requirements of each brokerage will affect each sales associate differently.
|Student Learning Pace||Time Period|
|Full-Time Student (40 hours a week)||3 weeks|
|20 Hours a Week||6 weeks|
|10 Hours a Week||12 weeks|
|5 Hours a Week||24 weeks|
3. If I get a real estate license in Ohio, where else can I work?
The state of Ohio has reciprocity agreements with Arkansas, Connecticut, Kentucky, Mississippi, Nebraska, Oklahoma, West Virginia, and Wyoming. Additionally, if you get a real estate license in Kentucky, you are automatically eligible to work in states that offer full reciprocity. States that offer full reciprocity will recognize your Kentucky license, meaning you can work in their state after fulfilling significantly less requirements. Typically, this means passing the state-specific real estate exam or taking a state-specific course. States with full reciprocity include:
The above list is not comprehensive. Please refer to
this guide for more information on reciprocity.
4. How much money can I make as an Ohio Real Estate Agent?
According to Indeed.com, the average salary for an Ohio real estate agent is $100,713.
Ohio Real Estate Post Licensing Requirements
Ohio real estate post-license education requirements are that you complete twenty (20) hours of post-licensing education courses within the first year of receiving your real estate license. All new sale associate licensees must complete this step.
The clock to complete your Post-Licensing will start running once you affiliate yourself with a principal broker. You’ll have one year to complete the education or risk having your license canceled.
Ohio Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements
All licensed agents are required to continue learning about the real estate industry after they’re licensed. For Ohio real estate agents, this requirement is thirty (30) hours of approved continuing education courses; these courses must be completed every three years from your date of birth.