Nevada Real Estate License Requirements
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Nevada
You’ll need to be 18 years of age. Then you must:
- Complete 120 Hours of Approved Nevada Pre-Licensing Education
- Pass the Course Final Exam
- Pass the Nevada Salesperson Real Estate Examination
- Submit Your Fingerprints for a Background check
- Submit Your Nevada Salesperson Application
How to Get a Real Estate License in Nevada
The Nevada Real Estate Division (NRED) requires all potential agents to complete the following steps in order to become licensed in the state. Follow the steps below to get started with your real estate career.
1. Complete 120 hours of Approved Nevada Pre-Licensing Education
Nevada law requires that you successfully complete the
required 120-hour Pre-Licensing course. There are several different Nevada real estate education providers. Many of them offer online classes as well as learning in-person coursework. Some Nevada real estate schools have an option for a free trial that can help determine if Nevada real estate courses are for you.
2. Pass the Course Final Exam
After you have completed your coursework, you must pass the course’s final exam(s). The course exam will test your newfound knowledge of real estate law and real estate principles. A passing score of 75% or greater is required to move on to the next step.
3. Pass the Nevada Salesperson Real Estate Examination
Once you’ve passed your course exam, the next step is passing the
Nevada real estate exam. The exam consists of two parts, an 80-question national portion and a 40-question state portion. Test-takers have 240 minutes to complete the entire exam. The exam is administered by Pearson VUE and the exam fee is $100.
If some time has passed between your coursework and your state exam or you just want to improve your chances of passing the licensing exam on the first attempt, consider investing in a Nevada-specific
Exam Prep course.
4. Submit Your Fingerprints for Background Check
All Salesperson applicants must acquire a fingerprint card and submit to both a Nevada and federal criminal history background check. To do this you must contact/visit a state-approved vendor and pay the $41.95 fee.
Applicants with a criminal history may be required to provide additional information but are not necessarily disqualified from obtaining a license.
5. Submit Your Nevada Salesperson License
If you’ve made it this far, congratulations, you’re just an application away from full licensure. The final step in getting a Nevada real estate Salesperson license is to submit your license application with the
Department of Business and Industry Nevada Real Estate Division. The application fee for an original Nevada real estate Salesperson license is $140.
Real estate licenses are managed by the
Department of Business and Industry Nevada Real Estate Division.
The state of Nevada requires Post-Licensing education (not offered by The CE Shop).
Education can be completed via online courses.
Common Questions About Getting Your Nevada Real Estate License
1. How much does it cost to get your real estate license in Nevada?
The cost of an agent license in Nevada can vary considerably depending on the price of your Nevada real estate classes and different types of fees for your licensing, etc. An individual can typically expect to pay $580.50 – $880.50 to get an active Nevada real estate license.
|Average Course Tuition||$299-$599|
|State Exam Fee||$100|
|Total||$580.50 – $880.50|
2. How long does it take to get a real estate license in Nevada?
The specific amount of time to complete your 120 hours of licensing can vary depending on how long each task takes you, and how long you take to complete Pre-Licensing courses. Different credit hours and requirements of each brokerage will affect each Salesperson differently.
|Student Learning Pace||Time Period|
|Full-Time Student (40 hours a week)||3 weeks|
|20 Hours a Week||6 weeks|
|10 Hours a Week||12 weeks|
|5 Hours a Week||24 weeks|
3. If I get a real estate license in Nevada, where else can I work?
The state of Nevada has reciprocity agreements with Arizona, Delaware, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Texas, Washington, Colorado, Idaho, Indiana, Kentucky, Minnesota, South Carolina, Utah, and West Virgina. Always check with the local real estate regulatory body.
4. How much money can I make as a Nevada real estate agent?
According to Indeed.com, the average salary for a Nevada real estate agent is $102,625.
Nevada Real Estate Post-Licensing Requirements
Nevada requires that licensees complete 30 hours of Post-Licensing education courses within the first 12 months of receiving their Real Estate License. All new agents must complete this step.
Nevada Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements
All licensed real estate professionals are required to maintain their knowledge in their particular field through Continuing Education. For real estate agents,
this requirement is 36 hours (18 of which can be taken online)
of approved Continuing Education courses. This must be completed every two years to maintain licensure in the State of Nevada.