30 Hours of Alabama
Real Estate Post Licensing

Post-licensing (or first renewal) in real estate is required by certain states. In those states, agents are to complete specific course requirements as a means of transferring license status from probationary or provisional status into full licensure. The real estate post-license exam is the final step of the licensing process and also fulfills qualifications for salespersons to become brokers after completing the required credentials.

Benefits of Our Courses

State Approved Education

All 30 hours of Alabama Post Licensing education are state approved and work toward taking the next step in your real estate career.

Flexible Scheduling

We offer various Alabama course packages to fit your learning style and personal interests. Purchase all of your CE requirements in a single transaction.

Customer Service

Our skilled Customer Service Representatives are available 7 days a week via phone, live chat, and email.

Why Choose Mbition by The CE Shop
For Your Alabama Post Licensing?

Mbition by The CE Shop’s top priority is our student’s success. We take each learning experience to the next level by delivering engaging, online, educational content, so you can succeed in your real estate career. We ensure our Alabama Post Licensing courses are always accessible and convenient – making Mbition by The CE Shop your premier Alabama real estate school!

  • Our Alabama real estate Post-Licensing courses are up-to-date and commission-approved.

  • Our courses are designed with the agent in mind. By creating real world exercises written by practicing real estate agents, we help agents finish their post-licensing to take their career to the next level.

  • We have years of real estate education experience, and student support that is unparalleled in the industry. We’ve helped over 250,000 real estate, appraisal, and home inspection professionals successfully begin and advance their careers.

Interested in advancing your career by upgrading your license or by getting a real estate license in another state? Check out our online real estate license course catalog to see what courses we offer in your state of interest.

Alabama State Requirement Detail for Real Estate Post-Licensing Education

Hours Required By The State: 30 hours

Completion of the 30-hour post-licensing course is required for salespersons within the first 6 months of licensure for active licensees and within one year for inactive licensees. Individuals must also apply for an Original Salesperson License and have it issued before the expiration of the first 6-month period. Note: There is no post-license requirement for brokers.

Eligibility: Per AREC 790-X-2-.03, a person shall be required to have a temporary salesperson license issued prior to beginning a post license course to earn post license credit. You can verify your number here

Max Hours in a 24-Hour Period: Alabama real estate licensees will not receive credit for more than 9 hours of post license education per day. Our online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.

Course Completions: Students must participate in each course for the number of hours of credit awarded and daily course segments cannot exceed 9 hours.

The CE Shop’s Offering: 30 hours

Temporary License ID: Pre-registration with the Commission is required prior to starting your post-licensing course.  This information is required to expedite the exchange of information among your instructor, the exam provider and the state of Alabama. You should already have a temporary ID number. You can also look up your temporary ID here. You will be required to provide this number at the start of your post-licensing course.

Post-Licensing Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with a minimum of 70%.

Proctoring Final Exams: The state requires that your final course exam be proctored. You’ll need to schedule an appointment with an online proctor in advance. You can find full details of the proctoring process here. Upon passing the final course exam you will be asked to sign an affidavit verifying your identity as the student who completed the course and the final course exam.

Post Licensing and CE: The holder of an original license who has satisfactorily completed the post-license course and whose original license has been issued, shall not be subject to the continuing education requirements for the first renewal of his or her original license.

Reporting: The state requires schools to report course completions within 3 business days. Please be sure to provide your ID number as that is required for us to report your completion. Students may verify reported credits through the Commission website using thes state's CMAP instructions here

Expiration Date of Course: This post-licensing course expires one year after the date of purchase.  The CE Shop will allow students to purchase a new course at a 50% discount of the current retail price of the new course.  Each individual course will have an expiration date listed in the student’s account.  

Certificates: Once The CE Shop has received the signed affidavit, your certificate of course completion will become available to download (and via email).  The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic certificate of completion, upon completion of the course. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license application to determine if you need to submit your certificate of completion with your license request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your certificate of completion will reflect this.

Additional Licensing Information: A temporary license is good for one year after the date of issuance and may not be renewed. Upon application, the licensee may request that the temporary license be issued on active or inactive status. If issued on active status, the license may remain active for the first 6 months of issuance before automatically moving to an inactive status. If an individual desires to remain active, he/she must complete the post-licensing course, apply for an Original Salesperson License and have it issued before the expiration of the first 6-month period. The Salesperson Original License Application is now available only through Available Services on the Commission's website.  When the post license course has been completed and course credit has been submitted, all temporary licensees must log in to Online Services here, select the Salesperson Original Application link, complete the online application, and pay the license fee. If this is not done, the license will automatically move to an inactive status for the remaining 6‐month period. Before the conclusion of the final 6-month period, the licensee must have the Original Salesperson License issued to avoid having the temporary license lapse. An individual with a lapsed temporary license is subject to all requirements applicable to persons who have never been licensed and must retake the Salesperson Pre-Licensing course and pass the state licensing exam before re‐applying for a temporary license.

Still have questions? Visit our Frequently Asked Questions or Contact Us.

Alabama Real Estate Commission

Street Address: 1201 Carmichael Way, Montgomery, AL 36106-3674

Telephone: 334.242.5544

Fax: 334.270.9118

AREC Online Services

Contact AREC via Email