Louisiana Real Estate License Requirements
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Louisiana
You’ll need to be 18 years of age and possess a high school diploma or GED. Then you must:
- Complete 90 Hours of Approved Pre-Licensing Education
- Pass the Course Final Exam
- Fill out Salesperson License Application Part A
- Pass the Louisiana Real Estate Examination
- Complete the Background Check
- Acquire Errors and Omissions (E&O) insurance
- Complete the Application
- Select a Sponsoring Broker
How to Get a Real Estate License in Louisiana
The Louisiana Real Estate Commission requires all potential agents to complete the following steps in order to become a licensed real estate agent in the state. Follow the steps below to get started with your real estate career.
1. Complete an Approved 90-hour Louisiana Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education Course
Successfully complete the required 90-hour Pre-Licensing course. There are several different Louisiana real estate education providers. Many of them offer online classes as well as learning in-person coursework. Some Louisiana real estate schools have an option for a free trial that can help determine if Louisiana real estate courses are right for you.
2. Pass the Course’s Final Exam
After you have completed your coursework, you must pass the course’s final exam(s). A passing score of 75% or greater is required to move on to the next step.
3. Fill out Salesperson License Application Part A
The next step is to fill out your
Salesperson License Application Part A. Once you have done that, you provide your Pre-Licensing certification of completion, and submit the required fee to the Louisiana Real Estate Commission (LREC). Then you will receive your candidate authorization to test.
4. Pass the Louisiana Real Estate License Exam
Once you’ve passed your course exam, the next step is passing the
Louisiana real estate exam. The exam consists of two parts, an 80-question national portion and a 55-question state portion. Test-takers have 180 minutes to complete the entire exam. The exam is administered by PSI and the exam fee is $90.
If some time has passed between your coursework and your state exam or you just want to improve your chances of passing the licensing exam on the first attempt, consider investing in a Louisiana-specific Exam Prep course .
5. Complete the Background Check
All Salesperson applicants must submit to a Louisiana and federal criminal history background check. To do this
you must order it through your LREC portal.
Applicants with a criminal history may be required to provide additional information but are not necessarily disqualified from obtaining a license.
6. Acquire Errors and Omissions Insurance
Per Louisiana state law, real estate Salespersons operating in the state of Louisiana must carry Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance. Specific coverage requirements and providers can be found on the LREC website. Salespersons can expect to pay approximately $918 per year to maintain their E&O Insurance policy.
7. Complete the Salesperson License Application Part B
If you’ve made it this far, congratulations, you’re almost there. The next step in getting a Louisiana real estate Salesperson license is to complete the
Louisiana Salesperson License Part B with the Louisiana Real Estate Commission.
8. Select a Sponsoring Broker
The final step in beginning your new career as a Louisiana Salesperson is to find sponsorship. All Salespersons operating in the state of Louisiana conduct their business on behalf of a real estate Broker or real estate brokerage firm. It’s important to
find the right broker to work with since this person will serve as your mentor as you embark on your new career in real estate.
Real estate licenses are managed by the Louisiana Real Estate Commission (LREC).
The state of Louisiana requires
additional Post-Licensing education.
Education can be completed via online courses.
Common Questions About Getting Your Louisiana Real Estate License
1. How much does it cost to get your real estate license?
The cost of a Salesperson license in Louisiana varies considerably depending on the price of your Louisiana real estate classes and different licensing fees, etc. An individual can typically expect to pay $1287 – $1547 to get an active Louisiana real estate license.
|Average Course Tuition||$279-$539|
|Errors & Omissions Insurance||$918|
2. How long does it take to get a real estate license in Louisiana?
The specific amount of time to complete 90 hours of licensing can vary depending on how long each task takes you, and how long you take to complete Pre-Licensing courses. Different credit hours and requirements of each brokerage will affect each Salesperson differently.
|Student Learning Pace||Time Period|
|Full-Time Student (40 hours a week)||2 weeks|
|20 Hours a Week||5 weeks|
|10 Hours a Week||9 weeks|
|5 Hours a Week||13 weeks|
3. If I get a real estate license in Louisiana, where else can I work?
If you get a real estate license in Louisiana, you are automatically eligible to work in states that offer full reciprocity. States that offer full reciprocity will recognize your Louisiana license, meaning you can work in their state after fulfilling significantly less requirements. Typically, this means passing the state-specific real estate exam or taking a state-specific course. States with full reciprocity include:
The above list is not comprehensive. Please refer to
this guide for more information on reciprocity.
4. How much money can I make as a Louisiana real estate agent?
According to Indeed.com, the average salary for a Louisiana real estate agent is $98,581.
Louisiana Real Estate Post-Licensing Requirements
Louisiana real estate Post-License education
requirements are that you complete 45 hours of Post-Licensing education courses within the first two years of receiving your real estate license. You’ll have two years to complete your PLE or risk having your license canceled.
Louisiana Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements
There is a requirements of
12 hours of approved Continuing Education courses
which must be completed by 12/31 of each year.