Oklahoma Real Estate License Requirements
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in Oklahoma
You’ll need to be 18 years of age, determined to be of good moral character, and be authorized to work in the United States. Then you must:
- Complete 90 hours of state-approved Oklahoma Pre-Licensing education (or six hours of college credit in a real estate discipline).
- Submit your fingerprints and pass the background check
- Pass the Oklahoma Salesperson Exam
- Complete the Oklahoma Provisional Sales Associate application
- Find a sponsoring Broker
How to Get a Real Estate License in Oklahoma
The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission requires all potential agents to complete the following steps in order to become a licensed in The Sooner State. Follow the steps below to get started with your real estate career.
1. Complete 90 Hours of State-approved Oklahoma Pre-Licensing Education (or Six Hours of College Credit in a Real Estate Discipline)
Successfully complete the required 90-hour Pre-Licensing course. There are several different Oklahoma real estate education providers, many offer online courses as well as learning-in-person coursework.
After the coursework, you’ll need to pass your school’s final real estate exam to receive your certificate of completion. College attendees with at least six credits in a real estate discipline may also qualify.
Not sure if you’re ready to go to school? Some Oklahoma real estate schools have an option for a free trial that can help determine if Oklahoma real estate courses are right for you.
2. Submit your Fingerprints and Pass the Background Check
The next step is to complete your background check. The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission, like many others, requires applicants to submit their fingerprints to Identogo along with the background check. The background check costs $60 to process.
A criminal history doesn’t necessarily disqualify a candidate from licensure, but additional documentation related to the conviction may be required by the commission. For individual review of your eligibility, please email [email protected].
3. Pass the Oklahoma Salesperson Exam
The national testing agency, PSI Services LLC, administers the Oklahoma Real Estate Exam. Per the PSI Oklahoma candidate handbook, the state exam must be taken under the supervision of a proctor at a local examination center or online.
The exam has 130 questions and consists of two portions: one with state-specific questions and the other with national questions. Candidates are given three hours to complete the exam and must score 70% or better to pass. The exam fee for each attempt is $60. For more details and information, see the PSI candidate exam information here.
If you need help passing the Oklahoma real estate licensing exam, there are several options out there to assist you. Many comprehensive exam prep tools are tailored specifically to Oklahoma and can give you a much greater chance to pass the exam on the first try.
4. Complete the Oklahoma Provisional Sales Associate Application
After completing your Oklahoma Sales Associate Exam, you will need to apply for your Oklahoma real estate license with the Oklahoma Real Estate Commission. For the provisional sales associate license, there will be a $35 application fee as well as a $100 license issue fee.
5. Find a Sponsoring Broker
To embark on your real estate career, you must be associated with a current and active Oklahoma Sponsoring Broker. It’s important to find the right Broker to work with since this person will serve as your mentor as you start your new career in real estate.
The Oklahoma Real Estate Commission provides an applicant checklist.
Post-Licensing education is required for Oklahoma license holders.
Exam locations can be found in the candidate handbook.
Common Questions (FAQs) About Getting Your Oklahoma Real Estate License
1. How Much Does it Cost to Get Your Real Estate License in Oklahoma?
The cost of an agent license in Oklahoma can vary considerably depending on the price of your Oklahoma real estate classes and different types of fees for your licensing, etc. An individual can typically expect to pay $654 – $994 amount to get an active Oklahoma real estate license.
Use a table like the example below (fill in your states information):
|Average Course Tuition||$399 – $739|
|Total||$654 – $994|
2. How Long Does it Take to Get a Real Estate License in Oklahoma?
The specific amount of time to complete your 90 hours of Pre-Licensing can vary depending on how long each task takes you and how long you take to complete Pre-Licensing courses. Different credit hours and requirements of each brokerage will affect each Salesperson differently.
|Student Learning Pace||Time Period|
|Full-Time Student (40 hours a week)||3 weeks|
|20 Hours a Week||5 weeks|
|10 Hours a Week||9 weeks|
|5 Hours a Week||18 weeks|
3. If I Get a Real Estate License in Oklahoma, Where Else Can I Work?
The State of Oklahoma does not offer formal real estate license reciprocity with other states. However, if you get a real estate license in Oklahoma, you are automatically eligible to work in states that offer full reciprocity. States that offer full reciprocity will recognize your Oklahoma license, meaning you can work in their state after fulfilling significantly less requirements. Typically, this means passing the state-specific real estate exam or taking only a single state-specific course. States with full reciprocity include:
The above list is not comprehensive. Please refer to
this guide for more information on reciprocity.
4. How Much Money Can I Make as an Oklahoma Real Estate Agent?
According to Indeed.com, the average salary for an Oklahoma Real estate agent is $96,918.
Oklahoma Real Estate Post-Licensing Requirements
Oklahoma real estate Post-License education requirements are that you complete 45 hours of Post-Licensing education courses within the first year of receiving your real estate license. All new sale associate licensees must complete this step, in the industry it’s called the “PLE” (Post-Licensing Education)
The clock to complete your post-license course will start running once you affiliate yourself with a principal Broker. You’ll have the year to complete your PLE or risk having your license canceled.
Oklahoma Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements
All real estate agents in Oklahoma are required to complete 20 hours of approved Continuing Education every three years.