North Carolina Real Estate License Requirements
How to Become a Real Estate Agent in North Carolina
To become a real estate agent in North Carolina, you’ll need to be at least 18 years of age and a U.S. citizen, a non-citizen national, a qualified alien under federal law, or have a lawful presence in the U.S., and be authorized to work in the U.S. in the real estate brokerage field. You do not need to be a resident of North Carolina.
Follow these steps:
Complete the required
75 Hours of Pre-Licensing Education
- Pass the Final Exam for Your Course
- Apply for Your North Carolina Broker License
- Pass the North Carolina Real Estate Licensing Exam
- Select a Broker-in-Charge and Complete 90 Hours of Post-Licensing Education
How to Get a Real Estate License in North Carolina
The North Carolina Real Estate Commission requires all prospective agents to complete the following steps to become a licensed real estate agent. North Carolina’s real estate license is called a Broker License, and you will begin your real estate career as a Provisional Broker.
1. Complete the Required 75 Hours of Pre-Licensing Education
Prospective real estate agents must complete
75 hours of education from a real estate school approved by the North Carolina Real Estate Commission.
2. Pass the Final Exam for Your Course
Once you’ve completed each Pre-Licensing course, you must pass the course final exam. These exams must be taken in the presence of a proctor. You’ll need to schedule an appointment with a proctor in advance.
3. Apply for Your North Carolina Broker License
Before you can take the North Carolina real estate licensing exam, you’ll need to submit an application to the North Carolina Real Estate Commission. You can apply online through the Commission’s website.
As part of your application, you will also need to complete a criminal background check.
4. Pass the North Carolina Real Estate Licensing Exam
Once your application for a North Carolina Broker License has been approved, you will receive a Notice of Exam Eligibility via email. You have 180 days after receiving the email to take the state licensing exam.
The exam, which is administered by PSI, consists of a national portion and a state portion. You will have 3½ hours to complete the 120-question exam. To pass, you must correctly answer 57 of the 80 questions on the national portion and 29 of the 40 questions on the state portion.
To register for the exam, visit PSI’s website. Some candidates take an exam prep course to increase the likelihood of passing on their first attempt.
5. Select a Broker-in-Charge and Complete 90 Hours of Post-Licensing Education
Once you’ve passed the licensing exam, you will be issued a Provisional Broker License. As a Provisional Broker, you must work under the supervision of a Broker-in-Charge. You will become a Broker once you’ve completed your
90 hours of Post-Licensing education. (The CE Shop does not currently offer this coursework.)
Choosing the right Broker-in-Charge to work with is a key factor to becoming a successful North Carolina real estate agent, so it’s important to find a good fit.
When searching for a sponsoring Broker, here are some questions to consider:
- Do they have a good reputation, locally and nationally?
- Are they looking for a specific type of real estate agent?
- What kind of education and training do they offer?
- What does their fee and commission structure look like?
- What kind of benefits do they offer?
To get a real estate Broker license in North Carolina, you must complete 75 hours of Pre-Licensing education and 90 hours of Post-Licensing education.
For more information about getting your Broker license in North Carolina, read
the North Carolina Real Estate Commission’s comprehensive guide.
To apply for your Broker license in North Carolina, visit
the North Carolina Real Estate Commission’s website.
Common Questions About Getting Your North Carolina Real Estate License
1. How much does it cost to get your real estate license in North Carolina?
The cost of getting a real estate license in North Carolina can vary considerably, but you can typically expect to pay between $706 and $906.
|Average Course Tuition||$500-$700|
|License Application Fee||$100|
|Background Check Fee||About $50|
2. How long does it take to get a real estate license in North Carolina?
The amount of time that it will take to get a real estate license in North Carolina can vary considerably, but one of the major factors is how long it takes you to complete your 75 hours of required Pre-Licensing education.
|Student Learning Pace||Time Period|
|Full-Time Student (40 hours a week)||2 weeks|
|20 Hours a Week||4 weeks|
|10 Hours a Week||7½ weeks|
|5 Hours a Week||15 weeks|
3. If I get a real estate license in North Carolina, where else can I work?
If you get a real estate license in North Carolina, you are automatically eligible to work in states that offer full reciprocity. States that offer full reciprocity will recognize your NC license, meaning you can work in their state after fulfilling significantly less requirements. Typically, this means passing the state-specific real estate exam or taking a state-specific course. States with full reciprocity include:
The above list is not comprehensive. Please refer to
this guide for more information on reciprocity.
4. How much money can I make as a North Carolina real estate agent?
According to Indeed.com, the average salary for a North Carolina real estate agent is $93,844.
North Carolina Real Estate Post-Licensing Requirements
To remove your Broker License’s provisional status, you must work under the supervision of a Broker-in-Charge while you complete your
90 hours of required Post-Licensing education.
North Carolina Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements
North Carolina requires that real estate Brokers take
eight hours of Continuing Education
every year to renew their license.