Alabama State Requirement Details for Real Estate Pre-Licensing Education
Hours Required by the State: 60 hours
Note: Students must register online with the Commission at arec.alabama.gov prior to completing the salesperson prelicense course in order to take the license examination. You can register here through this link: https://arec.alabama.gov/apps/preregistration/hnPMPBsb5wH9k7zzmFYhmw==
The CE Shop’s Offering: 60 hours
Pre-Licensing Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with a minimum of 70% and may be taken a maximum of two times.
Proctoring Final Exams: The state requires that your 60 Hour Salesperson final course exam be proctored. You’ll need to schedule an appointment with an online proctor in advance. You can find full details of the proctoring process here. Upon passing the final course exam you will be asked to sign an affidavit verifying your identity as the student who completed the course and the final course exam. The 6-Hour Reciprocal course does not require the final exam to be proctored.
Licensing Exam: The licensing exam is administered by Pearson VUE. Registration for the state licensing exam is an entirely separate process from proctoring for your course final exam. For instructions to register for your state licensing exam with Pearson VUE and further information, please click here.
Reporting: The state requires schools to report completions within three days of the course completion date. Students may verify reported credits through the Commission website using thes state's CMAP instructions here.
Expiration Date of Course: The CE Shop’s Pre-Licensing courses expire one year after the date of purchase. The CE Shop will allow students to purchase a new course at a 50% discount of the current retail price of the new course. Each individual course will have an expiration date listed in the student’s account.
Certificates: Once The CE Shop has received the signed affidavit, your certificate of course completion will become available to download (and via email). The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic certificate of completion, upon completion of the course. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license application to determine if you need to submit your certificate of completion with your license request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your certificate of completion will reflect this.
Post-Licensing: A new Salesperson must complete the 18-hour AREC post-licensure course by the end of the 6th month following their initial date of licensure. A new Broker must complete the 30-hour AREC post-licensure course by the end of the 6th month following their initial date of licensure. Post-Licensing requirements are satisfied by classroom attendance only.
Alabama License Portability and Reciprocity
Reciprocity: Full - All states
Here are the steps to real estate license reciprocity in Alabama:
- Complete a 6-hr. course in Alabama real estate law.
- Take and pass the corresponding Alabama portion of the licensing examination.
- Submit an official "Certificate of Licensure" form (license history) with the application, showing you hold a current license in another state. This certification must have been issued within 120 days of receipt of the reciprocal license application.
For more information on obtaining a reciprocal real estate license in Alabama, review the application for an Alabama Salesperson Reciprocal License and visit the Alabama Real Estate Commission’s website.
Still have questions? Visit our Frequently Asked Questions or Contact Us.