Learn about the Nebraska real estate education needs for licensing and renewal.
Licensing Board/Commission: Nebraska Real Estate Commission
Nebraska Real Estate License Requirements:
- Nebraska real estate salesperson license: 60 hours of pre-licensing education
- Nebraska real estate broker license: 180 hours (or 120 hours with two years of full-time salesperson experience)
Many students take advantage of exam prep tailored for their state, to give them a higher chance of passing.
Nebraska State Reciprocity:
Under the Nebraska Real Estate License Act, people who hold a current real estate license in good standing in another real estate regulatory jurisdiction which is his/her jurisdiction of primary residence, may be issued an equivalent real estate license in Nebraska either while remaining a non-resident of Nebraska or upon moving to Nebraska directly from the jurisdiction in which the real estate license is held. Because this is allowed in this statute, Nebraska doesn’t rely on reciprocal agreements with various jurisdictions to recognize licenses from there. Therefore, this is referred to as License by Recognition rather than Reciprocal Licensing.
For more information on reciprocity, view our complete guide.
Nebraska Real Estate Continuing Education (CE) and License Renewal Requirements:
- Real estate professionals in Nebraska must renew their real estate licenses by November 30 every two years
- By that date, licensees must complete 18 hours of real estate CE. Of these, 12 hours must be elective classes and 6 hours must be core continuing education classes.
- Continuing Education Credit will not be granted when activities or substantial activity content is duplicated within 4 years. Core “designated R” courses, are the exception to this rule.